The Nepal Flag, also known as the "नेपालको झण्डा" in the Nepali language, is a unique national flag of Nepal with a distinctive design. It is the only non-rectangular national flag in the world. The flag consist of two stacked triangles, with the upper one being smaller than the lower one.

The design hold following cultural and historical significance:

  1. Two Triangles: The flag's two triangles represent the majestic Himalayan mountains and the two major religions of Nepal, Hinduism, and Buddhism.
  2. Crimson Red: The flag's crimson red color is inspired by the rhododendron flower (लाली गुरास), symbolizing the courageous spirit of the Nepalese people.
  3. Blue Border: The blue border signifies the enduring peace and harmony in Nepal, dating back to the time of Gautama Buddha's birth in the country. It also symbolizes Nepal's abundant natural water resources.
  4. The Moon: The moon represents the tranquil and composed nature of the Nepalese people, along with the shades and cool climate of the Himalayas.
  5. The Sun: The sun symbolizes the fearless and bold character of the Nepalese, their ability to repel external threats, and their history of resisting colonization. It also signifies the hot temperatures in the lower Tarai region of Nepal.

The Nepali Flag is meticulously designed, where each element tells a story, symbolizes the country's geography, and reflects the character of its people.

Interesting Facts:

Proportion of the Nepali Flag: 11:9

Adoption of the Nepali Flag: December 16, 1962

Design of the Nepali Flag: A composition of two red triangles enclosed by a blue border, featuring a sun and crescent moon.

The Nepali Flag before Dec 16, 1962:

Old Nepali Flag

The Flag of Mustang:

The Flag of Mustang

Flag of the Kirat State in Nepal:

The Flag of Kirat.

Maoists declared the establishment of the Kirat Autonomous State, comprising the districts of Solukhumbu, Sankhuwasabha, Okhaldhunga, Khotang, Bhojpur, and Udayapur. This state flag is a national emblem for the Kirati people, representing Kirat-Desh (Kirat Country) in the ancient War of Kurukshetra, described in the epic Mahabharata and dated sometime between 5561 BC to 800 BC. The Kirat Flag served as a model for the Nepali Flag, and some are suggesting it should be adopted as Nepal's new national flag.

Color: The saffron yellow represents the sun will never set in Kiratdesa (Nepal)

Shape: The distinctive double triangles on the Kirat flag symbolize the Kirateas from the Vedic age, dating back over 5000 years, and also represent the Himalayas.

Symbol: The circle on the flag symbolizes the universe, encompassing both the external and internal realms. The inner circle signifies Mother Earth, while the outer circle represents the sky or Father Sky. Additionally, the bow and arrow serve as symbols of the "Kiratas" as warriors.

The reason this significant part of Nepali history remained concealed was due to censorship enforced by the former Hindu Shah-Rana leadership. However, following the abolition of the last Nepali monarch and the establishment of a federal democratic republic in Nepal on May 28, 2008, this is one of the many aspects of Nepali history now emerging into the light. [Source: Courtesy of New Spotlight & NTY 2011]

Veer Savarkar wrote:

To the Independent Hindu kingdom of Nepal all Hindus feels itself most loyally attached and would ever strive to strain every nerve in defending its honour and integrity. It is the only part of our Mother Land which continues down to this day as a Dharma Kshettra unsullied by the humiliating shadow of an alien non-Hindu Flag.

Nepali (Rs) Currency Exchange
Currency Unit Nepali Rs.
U. S Dollar 1 Dollar ($) 133.9595 Rs
UK Pound 1 Pound (£) 173.607 Rs
Euro 1 Euro 145.9317 Rs
Malaysian Ringgit 1 M. Ringgit 28.6222 Rs
Saudi Riyal 1 S. Riyal 35.7149 Rs
Bahrain Dinar 1 Dinar 355.417 Rs
Qatari Riyal 1 Q. Riyal 36.6416 Rs